International Law Office

Latest updates

Goh Ka Im

High court finds DGIR's advance ruling is decision subject to judicial review

Corporate Tax - Malaysia
Shearn Delamore & Co

In a recent case, IBM Malaysia applied for an advance ruling from the director general of inland revenue (DGIR) to determine whether a payment made by it to IBM Ireland under a software distribution agreement would be considered royalty under the Income Tax Act and thus subject to withholding tax.

Eriko Ogata

Overtime regulation bill enacted

Employment & Benefits - Japan
Nagashima Ohno & Tsunematsu

The National Diet recently enacted a bill relating to work style reform, which has amended the Labour Standards Act, the Industrial Safety and Health Act and relevant laws.

Ajay Bhargava

Non-signatory to arbitration: right to appeal under Section 37

Arbitration & ADR - India
Khaitan & Co

The Bombay High Court recently issued a landmark ruling regarding third parties' right to challenge interim measures granted by an arbitral tribunal under the Arbitration and Conciliation Act.

Carlos Ramos Miranda

Will Mexico suspend bidding rounds and farm-outs?

Energy & Natural Resources - Mexico
Hogan Lovells BSTL SC

The 2013 energy reform significantly opened up the energy sector to private participation, thus ending the state's decades-long monopoly.

Angelos Onisiforou

Registered alternative investment funds – an overview

Capital Markets - Cyprus
Patrikios Pavlou & Associates LLC

Cyprus recently introduced a law which aims to modernise its investment fund legislative regime and allows for the establishment of a new type of investment vehicle: the registered alternative investment fund (RAIF).

Klaas Meersma

For-profit hospital care: don't hold your breath

Healthcare & Life Sciences - Netherlands

For-profit hospital care is a toxic political subject.



Three’s a crowd? Third-party arbitration funding

Arbitration & ADR / Canada, Cyprus, Greece, India, Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom


Uber-complex: regulating ride-hail services

Shipping & Transport / Finland, USA


Competition and antitrust in the digital age

Competition & Antitrust / Bulgaria, Czech Republic, European Union, Hungary, Mexico, Pakistan, Poland, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey